Growing up on the spectrum part 8

Hi readers! I felt compelled to write about my sister again as I am watching the show Parenthood. If you haven’t seen it let me bring you up to speed. Its about a family and real problems and real dreams and how they interact with each other. There is a little boy named Max who is diagnosed with Aspergers Syndrome which is on the Autism Spectrum. In the episode I just watched Max is setting up his room for his sleepover with his cousin Jabar. His uncle Crosby (Jabars dad) comes to deliver news that Jabar and his mom are not able to make into town from their New York home this week and that plan had to be changed. Enter the meltdown. Max begins to yell and “clear” his legos off his table. (Clearing is a form of aggression in which the individual throws, slides or removes items from a particular space). I have seen these many, many times and in that moment when Max begins to meltdown and the other characters, minus his tutor begin to panic I knew exactly how it should be dealt with, and how to bring him back down to his baseline. I sympathize with this character so much and I find myself wanting to jump in this show and work with this child.

Its funny to me that I can deal with a child who is on the spectrum. A child who is aggressive, or having a meltdown better than a typically developing child. I have 2 nieces and 3 nephews (3 of which are my God Children) and I always feel bad because I feel like I don’t know how to relate to them so I try to be extra attentive and show them the amount of love and attention that I would show Rachel. The 5 of them amaze me the same way Rachel does yet somehow it is drastically different, if that makes sense.

Something I worry about with my future children is that if they are typically developing, will I not be able to relate to them? I am so used to working and relating to kids with special needs that I don’t know how I will be when I am a mom and if they are typically developing.

Do any of you have experience with special needs kids???

20160423_121613

Leave a Reply

