Suicide Squad: A movie review

suicidesquadmovielogo600_size3.jpg

 

Hey everyone! I just got home from a date with my husband. We finally got to go and see the long awaited Suicide Squad

Director: David Ayer

Release Date: August 5 2016

Suicide Squad is a story of 6 criminals who are assembled to take on an entity and end what they call WWIII. Amanda Waller played by Viola Davis is the agent who gets this Motley Crew together. She choose 6 bad people who she “believes can do some good.”

A hitman with a heart, DeadShot played by Will Smith

A psychiatrist who goes 5150 for love, Harley Quinn played by Margot Robbie

A gangster with a hot temper, Diablo played by Jay Hernandez

An Aussie with a good arm, Boomerang played by Jai Courtney

An animal, Killer Croc played by Adewale Akinnuoye Agbaje

A sword wielding widow, Katana played by Karen Fukuhara

All of them are in a battle against an ancient witch, who was released from her hiding place by a young woman June Moone, played by Cara Delevingne. One the witch or as she is called, The Enchantress is released she can wreak havoc on the world, if she has her heart. Thankfully Amanda Waller holds that, until Enchantress calls upon her brother to retrieve her heart so they can become Gods once again.

The motive is clear, defeat Enchantress and the Suicide Squad will have benefits while they finish their sentences. One of the Squad has something more on her mind… Harley is trying to get back to her Puddin’ The Joker, Played by Jared Leto.

Okay now that you have some back story I can get to the review. This movie has been on my mind since I first heard pre productions rumors over a year ago. I am hardcore Harley fan and I have followed her since the 90’s when she was first introduced in Batman The Animated Series. She is not a historical comic character, or at least she wasnt until the 90’s, so when I saw that she would be in this movie, I knew no matter what i would love her and I did! She did not disappoint and was absolutely perfect!

margot-harleyquinn-042816sp.jpg

Jared Leto… While I absolutely love him, he butchered this role. I was one of the few giving him the benefit if the doubt saying that he could really make this role his own… He did not deliver. However, his chemistry with Harley was the stuff of dreams. They were the perfect poison when together.

the-joker_0.jpg

Deadshot, I have to say stole the show! His drive, his attitude and his love for his daughter was a force to be reckoned with. He really carried all of the characters minus Harley.

5361001-esquadrão-suicida-pistoleiro.jpg

As far as the rest of the squad, I think they could have done without them. They were not very memorable in my opinion.

Overall I give the movie itself a 5/10. While it has been long awaited and the idea is great, the execution was not what I had hoped…

The characters are what made the movie, even the irrelevant ones, and I give them a 9/10! It is because of Deadshot and Harley that I really enjoyed this movie!!! I do plan on buying it when it becomes available so that I can continue to watch one of my favorite characters EVER over and over!

suicide-squad-trailer-team_0_0.jpg

11 thoughts on “Suicide Squad: A movie review

Leave a Reply

