What it’s like being a forever student… or something kinda like it

Hey friends, I was inspired to write a post about my school journey and what’s ahead for me.

I have been working on my A.A degree since 2009… that is 7 years. Having to work full time on top of school added extra time to my journey. Now that I can focus solely on school I am in full time and let me tell you it’s a bittersweet feeling. I love that I can work hard and focus on only school however my finish line feels 1000 miles away. I have only changed my major once, thankfully and between the Associates in Science for my first major and the Associates of Arts there was not much difference in core classes (thank goodness).

I am working towards finishing my A.A. transferring to an online school and getting my B.A in either English or Journalism then finally starting my Masters in Library and information Science. Yes, you need a masters to be a librarian!!!

What I am having a hard time with is getting my foot in the door at a local library. I can volunteer however volunteer work I’ve seen is just putting books away, and while that is appealing I need to learn all the in’s and out’s of working in a library. 

Are there any librarians out there who are reading that have tips??? I could really use them! 

This journey has been a long one for sure but I can’t give up, I didn’t work this hard for this long to stop!

2 thoughts on “What it’s like being a forever student… or something kinda like it

Leave a Reply

